#sisterhood

I heard on the radio this morning that today is International Women’s Day.   They said that the theme for this year is #pledgeforparity.   I thought about  about how few women, globally, are in positions of power and influence, I thought about how few women, globally, have the freedom to choose their future.   I thought about how few women, globally, have access to education. I thought about how many women, globally, live in fear.  Then I thought about how many women, globally,  support each other and work together for survival and aspire for the hope of parity.  For all women it begins with role models, education and a belief in sisterhood.

I think about all of the women in my life who have molded and inspired me.  Women who, when I was younger, encouraged me to read and to learn and to be strong.  Women who, throughout my life, still help me cope with trauma, make me laugh and women who dance in the rain with me.   I am so grateful to all of the amazing women I have known over the years.  I know that would not be where I am without the sisterhood that has been with me along the way.

In schools we always celebrate March as Women’s History Month.  Every year there are pictures of Rosa Parks and Emilia Earhart on the walls.  We teach them historical and current role models and we have students write slices about women who have inspired them. This is an important start, but we need to do more.  We need to help foster that sense of sisterhood, of supporting each other, combating that social media aggression and the ease with which they engage in conflict with each other.  It is through the support of sisterhood they can offer each other that provides a hope of parity.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #sisterhood

  1. aggiekesler says:

    I love this post about women. We do need to come together, rather than tear one another apart. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. I too love your writing today. I enjoyed the repetition and found it interesting in the middle of a paragraph. Thank you for posting.

Leave a Reply

