The only constant is change

This morning I was wandering back in time through my old writings  The ones I wrote when I was struggling to accept the end of my marriage.  As I read through I formed a word cloud in my head. The words I saw most were afraid, alone, lost, doubt, false.  It reminded me of the intense pain I felt at the time

Now, three years later, there are still times I have those feelings but they are softer, weaker, less consuming. 
Now the words I attach to most are free, hopeful, energized, enlightened, brave.  I marvel at the changes in my thoughts and feelings.  The resiliency of my spirit to recover from that which I feared I could never endure.
Over the years I hear myself counseling my students, telling them things I know. But-sometime forget to tell myself. All things are temporary especially feelings.  It is necessary to feel them, embrace them, but always know- no matter how painful the moment may be…it to shall pass. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The only constant is change

  1. peteacher1 says:

    “…free, hopeful, energized, enlightened, brave.” Powerful words, powerful emotions! So glad you are back on track and so much better than before. The light is bright and ready to guide you! You go girl!

  2. tsudmeier says:

    The resiliency of my spirit to recover from that which I feared I could never endure.-such a powerful statement!

  3. Amy Rudd says:

    embracing the moment and knowing there will be change can sometimes offer hope as well…you post offers hope!

  4. All things are temporary especially feelings…. Sometimes hard to remember, isn’t it?

  5. Lmhteach says:

    No matter how painful the moment may be…..it to shall pass. So, so true…..I’m glad you are there.

  6. jwhite9215 says:

    It is such a glorious feeling when you realize that you have made it through! Kudos to you, keep pushing!

  7. jen b. says:

    What a beautiful reflection. My favorite line, “Over the years I hear myself counseling my students, telling them things I know. But-sometime forget to tell myself.” This is not only true for you, nor probably me. Thank you for the gentle encouragement.

  8. creech33 says:

    I love the word cloud noticing. I also really like how yours have changed. You definitely are someone that needs to remember the things you so often tell others.

  9. larmour2014 says:

    That’s why you make such an impact on your students. They trust and believe you. That is your silver lining .

Leave a Reply

