Gratitude

Gratitude inventory:

My son with whom I can discuss everything from sports to politics and philosophy
My daughter who is compassionate, kind hearted, silly & who exclaims
“Hi Mommy!” when I call her, no matter who is around her
My sister who is my rock
My mom who taught me to love reading and The Cubs
My brothers who always provide me with entertaining stories
My Dad who created so many wonderful camping memories
All of my nephews who are adorable and loveable
My unbelievable amazing friends, both from years ago and those accumulated along the way, who are there for me with every hurdle life has
All those old musicians I love who took care of themselves well enough to still be performing in their 60’s and 70’s
The crazy cold winter which makes me be so excited for the coming of spring
My job, which after 17 years, I still enjoy and look forward to going there every day
My boss who is also my friend
My opportunity to have been The Dean which allowed me to appreciate how much I enjoy being a Social Worker
My colleagues who cheerfully accept my off the wall bleeding heart suggestions for assisting a tangled child
My students who always make me smile
Today when I came back after being out for two days- I was greeted with “welcome back”, “we missed you”, “where were you?”
There are painful times in life, but even then there are so many things for which to be grateful

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Gratitude

  1. Kim K says:

    This is a great idea for a slice Susan! Looks like you have much to include. I might steal this idea. 🙂

  2. I have been having a tough week so I am happy to read your list. I have many things I am grateful for as well and you naming yours is a great reminder for me. Many thanks.

  3. peanutrwco says:

    I love that you chose this slice today. Sometimes when we’re going through difficult times it’s so hard to see the good around us.

  4. bbutler627 says:

    Oh welcome back! I wasn’t there but your dark office made me sad the past two days. Your suggestions are many times common sense stuff we need to remember about these kids. We are grateful that you do it so well!

  5. Oh I love this! Nothing better than a heart full of gratitude. Being thankful and appreciative is what makes our darker days still seem bright. Thank you for sharing this with us!

  6. larmour2014 says:

    Love your list. It makes life look so full.

  7. peteacher1 says:

    It’s so important that we visit our feelings of gratitude often. You did a great job of writing about so many different parts of your life. Good slice!

  8. Susan, you put your heart out there in everything you write. Really in everything you do. This list makes me think of my own gratitude inventory. Thank you! 🙂

  9. I am so glad that we could be a source of comfort when you needed it. Hopefully slicing about the positives that surround you helps to soften the sadness.

  10. runningfancy says:

    Love the idea of a gratitude inventory—you’re inspiring a future slice, thank you! Also I likes now you kept it simply to one sentence, comes from the heart! Thanks for sharing a piece of yours with us.

  11. Kate Schwarz says:

    What a simple idea that perhaps should be done a little more often…in my life, for sure. Thank you so much for sharing your gratitude list, and for inspiring others to do the same!

Leave a Reply

