Possibly incoherent thoughts about thinking…not sure – let me know what you think

I had several conversations with people recently about thinking and the power of our thoughts.  We interpret others thoughts and intentions based on their actions and words both written and spoken.  There were examples of miscommunication, misreading, misinterpreting and misjudging and also fear due to projecting what someone else MIGHT think about what we say, do or write.   

We see and hear this happen with students all the time; they get upset because someone looked at them, they are afraid to express their opinion or fears because they worry about being judged. We redirect a group of students and one explodes because he/she is convinced they are being picked on, interpreting every comment or look as directed at only them.  They fear their classmates viewing them as stupid if they are wrong, they interpret our admonishments as personal, attacking, rejecting rather than instructional.  All this based on their thoughts of the situation.

 For ourselves, we don’t share our thoughts with others because we are fearful they will judge us.  I was reluctant to participate in slicing because of this fear(I got over that!)  We allow ourselves to be anxious and stressed over what someone else’s thoughts MIGHT be.  One of my friends and I have often referred to this as being stuck in our head, telling ourselves stories.  This over thinking about what happened and what might happen can cause us to allow our thoughts and fears to alter our actions, to convince ourselves that someone is angry or upset when they aren’t.   

 How to not do all of this?  For me the first step is just being mindful, aware of those thoughts, checking myself when I notice those thoughts.  I try to choose to not interpret others possible thoughts, notice I say try….

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Possibly incoherent thoughts about thinking…not sure – let me know what you think

  1. peanutrwco says:

    All of this is so very true. We try so hard not to get trapped in our own heads and be our own worst enemies. It’s definitely difficult for our kids because they are so centered on their self. It is a constant process of trying though. Great slice, I don’t think it was incoherent at all 🙂

  2. peteacher1 says:

    Be mindful! Yes! So easy to say, not as easy to do. Though you are right! We spend so much time consumed with others’ thoughts that may or may not be true. Why? Is that human instinct? Is it a leaned behavior? Is it a defense mechanism? So thought provoking! Great slice Susan!

  3. Dana Murphy says:

    “mindful” was going to be someone’s One Little Word for 2014 – a teacher from Kolmar – and I remember thinking how much I love that word.
    I’m totally stuck in my own head. lol. I love that phrase.

  4. Lmhteach says:

    I try to choose to not interpret others possible thoughts, notice I say try…. Okay, Susan, I’ll try too…thanks for that!

  5. tsudmeier says:

    Great piece! Since our conversation I have been more mindful of my thoughts also and what I am telling myself and trying not to be so hard me.

  6. I was so interested in your title and after reading this piece, it sticks with me. Very smart play on the overall meaning of your slice. I love, “fear due to projecting what someone else MIGHT think about what we say, do or write.” So very, very true. I like this slice very much. Makes me think.

  7. larmour2014 says:

    People with imaginative minds are over mindful. Lol

  8. jwhite9215 says:

    I think when we allow ourselves to be transparent, even though it’s hard, that’s where the most growth can happen. I’ve been pretty transparent lately, and honestly it has lightened my “load” immensely.

Leave a Reply

