So the thing about tickets is….

You kind of need them to get in to a show.  I have a running issue in my life related to tickets.  I have forgotten tickets at home, bought tickets for the wrong night, chose to buy tickets at the door, because no way was the show going to sell out only to have the person in front of me in line buy the last ticket. Standing outside faces against the glass hearing the music through the window, dancing on the sidewalk till we heard those magic words  “selling two”.  Now I obsessively check and recheck my online orders, my paper tickets over and over. 

Sometimes the ticket adventure is a story in and of itself.  There was the time when I was 18 and I took my 12 year old brother on the train from Philly to New York to see The Dead at Madison Square Garden.  That would have been adventure enough, but we went without tickets to a sold out show.  Buying tickets at a sold out Dead show was easy.  I had done it in Wisconsin, Illinois and Indiana- why would New York be any different?  Why was an 18 year old taking a 12 year old to New York City to see The Dead?  What? you mean that’s not normal?

So, yes- New York City is slightly different from the Midwest and a naïve hippy Midwestern girl & her money were soon parted.  I donated my $60 to some very nice young man who promised to quickly return with my tickets.  He must have gotten lost somewhere I’m sure.  As stood on the sidewalks of New York with my little brother trying to figure out what to do next, a fellow deadhead heard our sad story and sold us two tickets for less than face value!  We had exactly enough money left to take the train home.  It was, by the way an epic show!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to So the thing about tickets is….

  1. peanutrwco says:

    Oh my goodness, I was feeling so sad for you when the man “got lost,” but what a happy ending.

  2. Brave fan you are! Glad it worked out in the end.

  3. tsudmeier says:

    Oh the innocence of an 18 year old. It is so sad there are people who would do that. I also have a thing about tickets- I am always paranoid I will lose or forget them- luckily I have no sad story to share about that though. Good luck with all tickets in the future.

  4. Carrie Horn says:

    Love your descriptives….naive hippie midwestern girl….

  5. If you hadn’t been that naive girl, you would never have had many of the life experiences that you did. Thank goodness for naïveté.

  6. Brittany Butler says:

    This is a slice alright! Oh man, you missed that show. So sad but the story here is probably just as memorable. Whatever the event, I check my tickets every 30 seconds. I have the same problem.

  7. Dana Murphy says:

    The thought of 18 year old you and a 12 year boy alone on a train to a Dead show is terrifying, Susan!! What were you thinking?
    “I donated my $60 to a nice man….” ha ha ha.

  8. Kate Schwarz says:

    Hilarious! And I loved how it all works out in the end!

Leave a Reply

