Why mettamusic?

Since I was a child I have always been drawn to the power of music. I remember as a small child, my mom singing songs, silly old songs like Daisy Daisy, Playmates, Toorah Loolah and songs from musicals. Those songs stayed with me and I sang them to my children, although Im pretty sure my mom was better at singing in tune than me. My Dad sang also – rugby songs..thats a story for another time.
My mom’s musical taste definitely influenced mine. I spent hours listening to her records, mesmerized by the likes of Peter, Paul & Mary, The Weavers, Woody Guthrie, Joan Baez, Judy Collins. There was a large collection of Jazz & Classical records as well. I found great comfort in their words and the melodies. When I was in 8th grade, Fleetwood Mac Rumors and Jackson Browne’s Running on Empty were released. I listened to those records over and over dancing and singing along every time. My first concert was July 30 1978 at Veteran Stadium in Philadelphia. It was an all-day event featuring 4 bands; Sanford-Townsend Band, Bob Welch, Steve Miller, and Fleetwood Mac. I was in awe, it was magical and I was hooked on live music.
That summer my world shifted as I moved from a small rural community in eastern Pa to the big rowdy suburban community in Oak Park. Music was the constant in my life that eased me into the transition. I discovered XRT radio and Terri Hemmert. The music played on that station resonated with me as well as Terri’s infectious spirit and passion for all things music. I quickly met likeminded people and they introduced me to The Grateful Dead. I first experienced the Grateful Dead live adventure in Feb of 1979 when I saw Jerry Garcia at the Uptown theatre on the far north side of Chicago. I discovered the joy of losing myself in the music. I found that music filled all the spaces in my head it, freed my spirit and calmed my mind. I have not stopped dancing to the music since. Through the years I continued to attend live music events whenever and wherever I could. I took my children to Blues & Jazz fest as well as numerous summer street fests to hear music. If I have gone too long without- I feel disconnected, not myself somehow.
Tomorrow night I will see Bob Weir (from the Grateful Dead) and Ratdog at the Chicago Theatre. Both Bob and I have aged a bit and changed a bit over the years, but the passion for music continues.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why mettamusic?

  1. makablaze says:

    Specific songs define and punctuate our lives. As we see the artist age, we are forced to acknowledge that we are aging, too. My first concert was Rick Springfied in Harrisburg, PA. Yours is much cooler.

  2. ccahill2013 says:

    Susan, I was a freshman in high school when Rumors came out – it was the second album I ever owned! I still remember where it kept skipping on Rhiannon. Ah the memories. You and I are kindred spirits when it comes to music and WXRT. It stops at the Grateful Dead, though. Never liked ’em. Great slice. I may do one this month.

  3. Dana Murphy says:

    I really like this, Susan. I love the ending line. But mostly I love how you were able to describe so vividly what music does for your mind. It’s great. Was really interesting to read and gives such insight into you as a person. Nice piece of writing!

  4. Katie Diez says:

    I love how music ties across your childhood. It is easy to see why you love music so much! Great piece!

  5. larmour2014 says:

    What is life without music.

Leave a Reply

